Wye Valley Yoga Project

Cori and Pete from Wye Valley Yoga wanted 40+ diagrams illustrated so they could put together custom sequences for their students. At first I wasn’t sure if this was the brief for me but decided to just have fun with it and see where it led.

We had a really fun photoshoot at the beginning of the project, recording each of the 40 poses so we had some first-hand imagery to work with – the clients were keen on having the diagrams look like them, as they had brought in some source materials, including BKS Iyengar’s Light on Yoga, and the diagrams were recognisable as Iyengar’s family and students.

15044863_718749118279420_30524401_o

I wanted to make my illustrations quite fun and playful (which came up in client feedback and made me rather happy) but still wanted them to look fairly realistic. I drew some smaller to make the lines a bit bolder and refine them a bit.

15044868_718749121612753_85671270_o

The project was really fun and I learnt a lot about yoga, I felt quite a personal connection with the subject matter and I hope to continue this perhaps as a personal project (I did try to make some little ceramic yoga people last week but the clay didn’t want to play fair – will definitely be trying again though!)

The clients decided to opt for work that was more anatomically accurate and more refined but they said that mine would suit yoga for a younger audience, or perhaps pregnant/new mothers classes, which was pretty cool of them to say!
15034289_718749134946085_468241999_o

I would highly recommend Wye Valley Yoga if you live near Hereford or Hay-on-Wye, 100%.

http://www.wyevalleyiyengaryoga.com/

Amy

Leave a Reply

