We met Lisa Hassell from Inkygoodness and it was the most productive and motivating 3 days of my life.

As you can tell from the title, this week was awesome. Lisa Hassell from art and culture blog Inky Goodness came to visit us at college and do some workshops with us all about promotional materials.

For the three weeks before this week it was the Easter holidays and I was sat at my computer all day every day writing an essay on whether or not the independent publishing industry is exploitative (it’s not, but I did spend three weeks writing about it nonetheless). I submitted it on the Friday and started back at college on the Tuesday, which gave me a weekend to do more work for the practical modules I’m currently working on, but I just really struggled to motivate myself – I didn’t want to look at a computer screen for at least a month and I just felt a bit overwhelmed with everything I still had left to do.

I wasn’t looking forward to this week at all, thinking it was going to be lots of researching and working late into the evenings when I already had an ever-expanding list of things to do. HOWEVER, this week turned out to be the best week ever and it came at the best possible time.

Each day (Tuesday-Thursday) was split up into mini-presentations from Lisa, mini-research tasks and practical making sessions with the aim of having a finished promotional item and the end of the week that could potentially be sent off to agents or prospective clients.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what I want to do once I finish college, and I like the idea of making more 3D objects, specifically toys for children (and adults), and I’ve also been thinking about starting my own vegan food blog in the summer, and potentially doing some editorial illustrations for it. I combined these two things and voila! I had my idea. (Ok, I had a couple of ideas, but there was one really good one).

A pop-up veggie patch with chickens and flowers and pull-out vegetables that can be sent flat-packed.

You better believe it. It happened.

12999745_1590404077917514_680356219_o

img002img003

pmboxnet3pmvegandchickens

Leave a Reply

